top of page

Marian Catholic Welcomes New Board of Directors Members

Marian Catholic High School is excited to announce the election of two new Directors to our Board of Directors. We are excited to welcome Mr. John P. Lavelle, Jr. ’81 and Mr Daniel Labert ’93 as the newest members of the Board of Directors. They will both serve a first term of three years, ending June 30, 2025.

Mr. John P. Lavelle, Jr. ‘81

John Lavelle (left), a member of the Class of 1981, is a partner with the law firm of Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP, based in their Philadelphia office. He has been a member of the Marian Catholic Board’s Advancement Committee for several years and will remain on that committee.

John, who grew up in Lehighton, is one of several members of his family who graduated from Marian Catholic, including his sisters Marianne ’77, Jacqueline ’84 and brother James ’87. John resides with his wife Colleen in Bryn Mawr, PA, where they raised their three daughters. "Marian Catholic was, and is, a very special place to me," said Lavelle. "When I think back on my time as a student there, what stands out the most is the care, support and encouragement I received not only academically, but more importantly the friendships and personal growth outside the classroom."

"High school is a unique time for teenagers, and the faculty and staff at Marian Catholic are there to help you navigate such a complex time in your adolescence. I feel I owe a great deal back to a school that gave me so much, a school I genuinely love. For a school that contributed so much to my individual success, it is my honor to pay it back.”

Mr. Daniel Labert ’93

Dan LaBert (right), a member of the Class of 1993, is the President of Brokerage and Executive Vice President of Member Experience at Finseca in Washington DC.

“When I entered Marian Catholic for the first time in September of 1989, I was full of excitement and eager to see what the next four years would hold. Little did I know that who I am today would be attributed to the learnings, experiences, and friendships I gained at Marian Catholic,” said LaBert.

"My parents made many sacrifices to provide the best education for my siblings and myself. They knew that Marian Catholic would not only provide a great education, but offer best in class athletics, opportunities to interact with students from different areas, and combine it all with faith-based teaching.

"My experiences at Marian Catholic were unbelievably great and I often reminisce about wanting to do them all over again. The pride I feel when I tell people that I am an alumnus is incredible.

"Marian Catholic taught me to always give back, and doing so at Marian Catholic is more than an honor,” LaBert concluded. He has been a member of the Marian Catholic Board’s Advancement Committee for several years and will remain on that committee.

Dan grew up in McAdoo and his two brothers James ’83 and Thomas ’89 are also graduates of Marian Catholic. Dan resides with his wife Noel and daughter Gwen in Ashburn, Virginia

About the Board of Directors

Marian Catholic High School is incorporated under a Board of Directors that provides the school with invaluable leadership, direction, and support in fulfilling its mission of school governance. The Board of Directors meets throughout the year and new members are elected annually.

Members of the Board of Directors for the 2022-23 school year include: Nicole Andel ’91, Dave Bielen ’69 P ’91, GP ’24, Patrick Boyle ’03, Jack Cusatis, P ’93, Larry Furey ’79, Leo Marzen ’79, Sr. Rose Mulligan, IHM ’84, Erin O’Gurek ’03, Pat Reilly, P ’98, ’02, ’11, Jim Sauka ’66, P ’93, ’94, ’96, ’00, Leo Schilling ’57 and Bill Stulginsky ’69.

Patrick O’Reilly, P ’09, ’02, ’11 will serve as Chairman, Dave Bielen ’69, P ’91, GP ’24, as Vice Chair, Sr. Rose Mulligan, IHM ’84 as Secretary and Bill Stulginsky ’69 as Treasurer.

Committee Chairs for the 2022-23 school year are Leo Marzen ’79, Governance and Nominating Committee, Bill Stulginsky ’69, Finance Committee; Larry Furey ’79, Advancement Committee; Jack Cusatis, P ’93, Facilities Committee and Patrick Boyle ’03, Enrollment Management Committee.

356 views0 comments


bottom of page